Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Minor Characters

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from GingerReadsLainey on YouTube and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes.

Here is a link to the Goodreads group if you’d like to join! It’s pretty fun.

Long time, no blog post! For a few weeks, I tried my hand at the booktube thing, but I ended up not really making videos because of school and work and life. I decided I’d like to come back to writing blogs. It’ll get me into the habit of writing for myself every day again…I hope.

I’m sure y’all don’t really want to hear about all that! Onward with what you’re really here for!

This week the T5W topic is Favorite Minor Characters. Sam defined these as the characters that are less than side or sidekick characters (less, as in less involvement in the story not less meaningful to us).

I guess I’ll go backward from my number 5 to my number 1!

5: Rahim

“Well if anyone can talk their way out of a beheading, it’s you.” -Rahim

From The Wrath & the Dawn duology by Renee Ahdieh! He’s one of my favorite characters of both of the books. As much as I love the main characters, Shazi and Khalid, I love Rahim just as much! And like him way more than I like Tariq. He’s always there for his friends no matter what. He’s supportive, trusting, understanding, and always see’s the best in people.

4: Abby Suso

What to say about Abby beyond that she’s terrific? She’s a minor character in Becky Albertalli’s Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda and The Upside of Unrequited. She’s an amazing friend to Simon and Molly! She’s always there and always supportive. You can’t help but love her. She has such a kind heart!

3: Tolya

“Yuyeh sesh.” -Tolya

Really I’m not sure whether Tolya or Tamar should be higher on this list because I just love them both so much. Tolya is Tamar’s twin brother from the Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo. He is fierce, strong, and hilarious when he feels like talking.

2: Tamar

“Ni weh sesh.” -Tamar

Tamar is Tolya’s twin sister. She is incredible! She is strong and unapologetically herself. I wish I had a book series just about these two. There is a short list of characters I truly like from this series, and these two are at the top of it. Along with Nikolai (of course!) and my number on this list.

1: Genya

Na razrusha’ya. I am not ruined. E’ya razrushost. I am ruination.” -Genya

MY BABY, GENYA! I love her so much. She’s also from Leigh Bardugo’s Grisha trilogy. She is a fierce warrior, and one of the strongest woman characters. She’s there for the long haul. She’s incredibly dynamic, makes mistakes and owns up to them. She does what needs to be done.

*Realizing that I need to reread the Grisha trilogy because I miss these characters*

That’s about it for this Top 5 Wednesday post!

Let me know in the comments some of y’all’s favorite minor characters!

Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment