Book Review: More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

“In that moment, I wish my existence were as simple as being set on fire and exploding in the sky.” -Adam Silvera, More Happy Than Not

ReadThemAllThon-Badge02-Cascader

IMG_0156

Official Synopsis:

Sixteen-year-old Aaron Soto is struggling to find happiness after a family tragedy that leaves him reeling. He’s slowly remembering what happiness might feel like this summer with the support of his girlfriend Genevieve, but it’s his new best friend, Thomas, who really gets Aaron to open up about his past and confront his future. As Thomas and Aaron get closer, Aaron discovers things about himself that threaten to shatter his newfound contentment. A revolutionary memory-alteration procedure, courtesy of the Leteo Institute, might be the way to straighten himself out. But what if it means forgetting who he truly is?

Review:

5/5 Stars

More Happy Than Not was the first book I read for Aentee’s #ReadThemAllThon. It’d been on my ‘to be read’ list for a while and I’d been hearing that it’s a book that can make you drown in your emotions. So, of course, it was perfect to do for the Cascade Badge: Read a book that might make you cry challenge!

It definitely made me cry.

Adam Silvera’s debut novel did everything it needed to do and more. It established him as an incredibly talented writer, made me want to read more from him, and kept me thinking about the book for days after I finished it. He weaves symbolism and foreshadowing into his story so eloquently that when you go back and read little bits and pieces over again you have epiphany after epiphany of things you wished you noticed before but didn’t. I’ve never read a more unpredictable book. It was refreshing and heartbreaking to try to figure it all out only to be completely wrong.

The characters were probably my favorite thing about it, though I absolutely loved the plot. Silvera’s characters brought the unique plot to a completely different level with their diversity, developed personalities, and flaws. I found bits and pieces of myself in almost every character. Being able to relate to them in different ways was a driving force for my reading, I needed to know how they ended up. He was able to lighten the book at times using character interactions that made me laugh between bursts of sadness, regret, and anger. His premise and plot made me open the book, his characters made me unable to close it.

Everyone can learn something from a book that covers such a wide range of themes and issues. He works with everything from depression and suicide to homophobia to drug abuse. By far, my favorite theme was hope and happiness, probably not in the way you think. I wasn’t able to use my favorite quote at the beginning of this review because I felt it spoiled too much but just know that this book brought me so much hope while I was drowning in heartache.

More Happy Than Not will break your heart, but it will be worth every minute of it!

There was absolutely no way for me to give this book any less than five stars. It made me feel so many different things from the very beginning. It made me laugh and cry and want to throw it at a wall. It made me more happy than not (what a terrible pun).

Pokemon Update:

Name: ShinxShinx_DP_anime

Trainer: Amanda

Blog: A Bookish Invasion

Type: Electric

Evolutionary Stage: 1

Combat Power: +82

 

** CP Breakdown: +10 Startup+20 badge+30 pages+20 WP review+2 tweet

Published by

abookishinvasion

I'm Amanda, a 21 year old college student. I have an intense passion for books, writing, and reading. That's what the focus of this blog will be. I post book reviews, tags, and sometimes my own writing! If any of that sounds like something you enjoy then welcome!

6 thoughts on “Book Review: More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera”

  1. I LOVE this book!! So glad you enjoyed it too 😀
    Did Aentee say you could count the review twice for posting it in two different places? I didn’t see that in the rules but I know she’s been answering questions about the readathon on Twitter so maybe I missed that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Okay so in her rules on the original post it says “For each review you post of a book you read during the Read-a-thon period, gain an extra +20CP.”
      Maybe it only means one? I think when I read it the first time I thought it meant like on different platforms? I’ll just take it off to be safe! Thanks for noticing that!

      Like

Leave a Reply

